Florida Pharmacy Association Awards Multiple GSOP Members

August 2017

PBA alumnus, a current P3 student, two current pharmacy preceptors and former pharmacy professor accept awards at theFlorida Pharmacy Association (FPA) annual meeting. The FPA is a state wide professional pharmacy organization united to advance healthcare and pharmacy practice.




Dr. Luther Laite, 2007 alumnus, received the Frank Toback/AZO Consultant Pharmacist Award. Laite is a consultant pharmacist forAlixaRx, a nationwide pharmacy service providing long term care, on-site medication dispensing and certified geriatric clinical pharmacists. He serves as the director for Region 6 for the FPA and is the past president of the Brevard County Pharmacy Association.

Current P3 student, Aisha Shokoya, was recognized for her leadership and service as the past president of the Gregory School of Pharmacy FPA chapter. In addition, Shokoya founded a non-profit organization, Precious Woman, dedicated to empowering women and helping woman and children in need across the globe.

Two current pharmacy preceptors were recognized for their professional achievements as well. Dr. Damien Simmons, owner of Atlantis Pharmacy and vice president of the Palm Beach County Pharmacy Association, received the Excellence in Innovation Award. Norman Tomaka, clinical consultant pharmacist, received the Cardinal Generations Rx Award for his efforts within the pharmacy community to raise awareness of the problem of prescription drug abuse.

Other award recipients included Paul Ackerman, former GSOP professor, who was named Pharmacist of the Year for 2017. Ackerman taught pharmacy law and was the past president of FDPA in addition to working 27 years at Walgreens.

< Show All Articles