Three District Graduates Earn Latest Round of College-Based National Merit Scholarships

July 2017

Three graduates from the School District of Palm Beach County have earned National Merit Scholarships from the college or university they will attend, as part of the most recent release of scholarship winners announced Monday by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.

The winners will receive between $500 and $2,000 each year, for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution funding the scholarship.

This year, 182 colleges and universities are underwriting National Merit Scholarship awards through the National Merit Scholarship Program. Winners of corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards and National Merit $2,500 scholarships have already been announced. The District’s winners of those awards can be found here.

More than 1.6 million high school juniors entered the 2017 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2015 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, which serves as the initial screen for program entrants. Semifinalists for the program include the highest-scoring entrants in each state. Congratulations to the most recent college-based National Merit Scholarship award winners from Palm Beach County:

• Eleanor A. Brodrick – Suncoast High School, National Merit University of South Florida Scholarship.
Probable career field: Environmental Science

• Sagar L. Das – Atlantic Community High School, National Merit University of Florida Scholarship.
Probable career field: Mechanical Engineering

• Dianna A. Smith – Jupiter Community High School, National Merit Fordham University Scholarship.
Probable career field: International Law

< Show All Articles