October 2019

Submissions are now being accepted for The 25th annual Student Showcase of Films (SSOF). The competition is free and open to aspiring filmmakers, writers, graphic designers and digital media artists who are currently enrolled in any high school or college in the state of Florida.

Now in its twenty-fifth year of existence, SSOF has awarded more than $1.6 million.  This year, the program boasts an increased award offering, with more than $20,000 in cash, scholarships and prizes up for grabs for entries in the following categories:  

Burt Reynolds Scholarship

Sara Fuller Scholarship

College Feature Short

High School Feature Short



Music Video

Education PSA
(new category!)

Commercial PSA

Environmental PSA


Poster Design

And, in a continuing tribute to the legacy of film legend, Burt Reynolds, the SSOF will present to a Palm Beach County high school senior, The Burt Reynolds Scholarship Award, a $5,000 cash prize. Mr. Reynolds was a longtime supporter and frequent presenter at the SSOF Red Carpet Award Show.

Interested students should visit for more details and entry guidelines for each category.  The deadline for entry is Monday, January 27, 2020.  All entries must be received by 5:00pm on January 27th.

Entries are judged by an international panel of more than 40 entertainment industry experts. Among the list of previous judges are Emmy Award-winning TV writer/showrunner Chic Eglee (American Gods), musical director Michael Orland (American Idol), ESPN documentary filmmaker Billy Corben, visual effects supervisor Dean Lyon, digital content creator Cody Johns, acclaimed television writer Hal Cantor, wildlife specialist and host of Nikon’s Birding Adventures James Currie, Executive Producer for Warner Animation Group Jinko Gotoh, documentary filmmaker and Broadway Producer Suzanne Niedland, Russian Arm Specialist Michael Jordan, President of Ellen Jacoby Casting International Ellen Jacoby, Pixar animator Michael Bidinger, Carnegie Hall violinist Nick Kendall, Executive Producer for Peter Berg’s Film 44 John Logan Pierson, Hollywood composer, arranger and orchestrator Hal Rosenfeld, Post Beach Post columnist Leslie Gray Streeter, news anchors Jay Cashmere and Ric Blackwell and former Carolco Pictures C.O.O and filmmaker Jacqueline Journey, just to highlight a few.

Winners will be announced and awards will be presented at an exciting, red carpet award show on Friday, April 3, 2020 at the Keith C. and Elaine Johnson Wold Performing Arts Center at Lynn University.  The award show is produced and hosted by award-winning actor/director Frank Licari (South Florida PBS’ On the Town in The Palm Beaches) and attracts a standing-room-only audience of students, celebrity presenters, industry professionals, government dignitaries, media and more.  Previous presenters include Vanilla Ice, singer Howie D. (Backstreet Boys); TV host Montell Williams, Palm Beach Post pop culture writer Leslie Gray Streeter, actors Cheri Oteri (SNL), Linda Blair (The Exorcist), Bruce Campbell (Ash vs. The Evil Dead), Clint Howard (The Waterboy), Thomas Ian Nicholas (American Pie) and of course, the legendary Burt Reynolds. Last year’s red carpet award show was broadcast live and is still available on demand via ThePalmBeaches.TV.

The SSOF is the cornerstone of the education outreach initiative of The Palm Beach County Film and Television Commission.  The competition engages faculty and school administrators in guiding student participation.  The SSOF is funded by the Palm Beach County Board of County Commissioners through the Department of Housing & Economic Sustainability and the Palm Beach County Film & Television Commission. Award sponsors include Suzanne L. Niedland (Suzanne L. Niedland Documentary Scholarship), Keep Palm Beach County Beautiful, Inc. (Environmental PSA Award), Film Florida (Sara Fuller Scholarship), Michael Chasin (Nellie & Fred Chasin Screenwriting Award) and Ralfonso “Ralf” Gschwend (Poster Design Award).

For a complete list of our generous sponsors, please visit:





< Show All Articles