Academic Leaders Council

Industry & Education

In an unprecedented partnership between industry and education, the Business Development Board of Palm Beach County created the Academic Leaders Council, a sweeping new initiative that joins businesses and schools to ensure curriculum alignment with jobs and creates a skilled workforce for the many companies relocating or growing in Palm Beach County. The Academic Leaders Council includes presidents of six Palm Beach County universities and the Palm Beach County School District Superintendent.

Academic Leaders

  • Donald E. Fennoy II, Superintendent, Palm Beach County School District
  • William “Bill” Fleming, President, Palm Beach Atlantic University
  • George Hanbury, President & CEO, Nova Southeastern University
  • John Kelly, President, Florida Atlantic University
  • Gary Vonk, Flagship President, Keiser University
  • Kimberly Lea, West Palm Beach Campus President, Keiser University
  • Ava Parker, J.D., President, Palm Beach State College
  • Kevin Ross, President, Lynn University

Industry leaders that have participated include:

Aviation/Aerospace/Engineering Industry Leaders

  • Catherine Haas Barre, President, Parametric Solutions, Inc.
  • Russell Moore, Operations Manager, Belcan Engineering Group, LLC
  • John Fischetti, General Manager, Sikorsky
  • Michael O’Neill, Site Manager, Pratt & Whitney

Life Sciences Industry Leaders

  • Dr. Fred Sancilio, Founder and President, Sancilio & Company
  • John Swartz, Vice President, KRS Global Biotechnology
  • Dr. Claudia Zylberberg, Founder & CEO, Akron Biotechnology, LLC
  • Dr. Adam Ibrahim, CEO, Horizon Pharma

Information Technologies and Telecommunications Industry Leaders

  • Daniel Cane, President & CEO, Modernizing Medicine
  • Jim Milton, CEO, Campus Management Corp.
  • Lenny Chesal, Chief Evangelist,
  • Robert Missroon, VP – Finance, CFO, Document Storage Systems (DSS)

Healthcare Industry Leaders

  • Jerry J. Fedele, President & CEO, Boca Raton Regional Hospital
  • Molly Ferguson, Director Program Development, Florida Community Health Centers
  • Gina Melby, President & CEO, JFK Medical Center
  • Robbin Lee, President & CEO, Wellington Regional Medical Center

Trades/Construction Industry Leaders

  • David Aiken, Director Commercial Development, Florida Region, US Operations, Cemex
  • Michael Daley, President, Hi-Tech Roofing
  • Rick Seymour, CEO, Carpenter Electric
  • Dale Hedrick, President, Hedrick Brothers Construction
    Alan Poston, Vice President, Hardives, Inc.
    Carol Bowen, VP Govt. Affairs – Associated Builders and Contractors

Distribution/Logistics Industry Leaders

  • Barbara Miedema, VP Public Affairs, Sugar Cane Growers Cooperative of Florida
  • Warren Newell, Director  of  Development, Cheney Brothers
  • Adam Runsdorf, President; Larry Hotz, Marketing Manager, WDSrx – Woodfield Distribution, LLC
  • Caroline Villanueva, Project Manager, Florida Crystals

Manufacturing Industry Leaders

  • Sandie Foland, CEO, Baron Sign Manufacturing
  • Scott Frum, Plant Manager, RGF Environmental Group
  • Subi Katragadda, General Manager, SV Microwave
  • Kim Lukich, Human Resource Manager, Viking
  • Sean Quinn, President & CEO, Wafer World
  • Paul Roraff, Plant Manager, SolarTech Universal